•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

I tried to collimate my SCT, after 2 hrs. I didnt do much.

• Please log in to reply
90 replies to this topic

#1 EEBA

EEBA

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 27 February 2020 - 01:36 AM

I am new to the hobby, and I got my celestron 8 Se, in my previous thread,I was complaining about my telescope. I was thinking it is a telescope that doesn't produce sharp images. Most of the people that replied only spoke great things about this scope. They mentioned it could be the seeing quality or bad collimation.
After reading ed's guide to sct collimation, I tried to follow the steps to improve collimation. I put masking tape identified the 12 o clock screw, right and left screw. I took the scope outside and I pointed to capella. I used my 8-24 zoom with and without 2x barlow. I noticed the black shadow of the secondary mirror seem to be centered in the concentric circles[fresnel image], I also noticed that I am suppose to identify clearly the first 3 rings. I did but they weren't clear. They were fuzzy. Also I was looking for the Airy disk. It was never visible. Just an irregular shaped star. It makes me think the telescope is not focusing efficiently or not well collimate. But while performing the star test, the fresnel pattern look symmetrical,but blurry. I feel stuck here. What will be the next step?

#2 Tapio

Tapio

Vanguard

• -----
  • Loc: Tampere, Finland

Posted 27 February 2020 - 01:43 AM

If you see black shadow centered and rings concentric then I'd say you have a pretty good collimated scope.

But basic stuff:

You are letting your scope acclimate about an hour before trying to use it ?

You are looking objects as high as possible ? (My personal limit is 20 degrees above horizon).

#3 CeeKay

CeeKay

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Vancouver, WA

Posted 27 February 2020 - 01:44 AM