•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Having fun yet?

beginner
  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 N2TU

N2TU

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 27 February 2020 - 09:21 PM

OK....a newbie here....I have been immersing myself in all the newbie discussions for weeks in an attempt to educate myself. (and not acting dumb when asking questions.) And no, I am not having fun yet!  I spend way too much time setting up and way too little time observing!

Here is my set-up;

Celestron Nexstar 6E 

SkySync

StarSense

12V Battery pack (fully charged).

All equipment has the latest release of code. (as of Monday )

OK...here are my biggest roadblocks (so far!)

1. Set the location and time using the HC to source as GPS. Should this setting be a once and done? That is, once it is set it should remain set? If so, why do I have to keep inputting the correct time? ( I allow 5 minutes for the GPS to lock .)

2. At times, the StarSense works perfectly. Seems rather simple...hit align and the unit finds its internal star map and settles into a neutral position. Then for some reason it fails at "Acquiring position" . It does nothing. Turn power off and then do a total realign again...without moving the set-up and it will work.  What am I doing wrong?

The frustration factor is rather high....either the Celestron software is buggy and inconsistent or I am doing something wrong. Any help would be appreciated.

#2 Tdesert63

Tdesert63

Vostok 1

Posted 27 February 2020 - 09:47 PM

The only dumb questions ,are the ones not asked,,, don't learn if you don't ask
  • N2TU likes this

#3 coopman

coopman

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: South Louisiana

Posted 27 February 2020 - 10:07 PM

Someone will be along to help you shortly.  Hang in there.  Never give up.

• N2TU likes this

#4 cookjaiii

cookjaiii

Viking 1

• Loc: Southeast PA