•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Beginner seeking Advice on Refractor

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 ivanvan21

ivanvan21

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 27 February 2020 - 09:59 PM

Hello everyone my name is Ivan and I’m kinda new to Astronomy, I have a Celestron Nexstar 102 GT and I'm fascinated with it but I feel like I need to take it to the next level.

I was thinking of getting a Sky-watcher EvoStar 100ED, but I found this place and found out that there's many more options out there.

I mainly want to look at the moon, nebulas, planets etc, not many photography but could be a plus.

Any help would be really appreciated it, I'm thinking 500-1000.

Thanks in Advanced.

• aeajr likes this

#2 vtornado

vtornado

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Northern Illinois

Posted 27 February 2020 - 10:24 PM

Hello Ivan and welcome to CN

I have the 102GT and a Orion 100 f/9 ED.

For planetary the ED puts up a cleaner, crisper image at the same mag on Jupiter, the colors are better.

Although the purple on the moon in noticable in the Achro, it does not detract much from the detail I can see.

I feel confident the ED would put up a better image of Mars when it returns, but I did not own the ED when Mars was up last time.

Saturn in not much difference.

I would say overall the ED puts up a 10-20% better image at medium to high power.  That is a very hard thing to quantify, and

I don't know how too.  I'm sure the experience is very personal too.

Is the ED worth 3-4x the price of an Acho?  Only you can decide that.

A 6 inch mirrored scope is a step above the 100 ED, and an 8 inch mirror is a leap.

Both of them can be had for less than a 100mm ED.  That is why I stopped buying refractors at 100mm.

Used 100ED can be had for $400, but  the 120 ED is a lot more even used.