•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

3.25 SCT rear cell Adapter, HELP

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 Cyberpapa

Cyberpapa

Lift Off

• topic starter

Posted 28 February 2020 - 12:21 PM

I'm a newbie. I just got a C-11 A XLT and the rear cell has a 3.25 x 2" eyepiece adapter on it. The stuff I've read says it's suppose to come with a 3.25 x 2" SCT adapter. So I though I could still use what I have.

I have been using a celestron C-8 and have acquired a lot of parts that I want to keep using. I've been all over the net and can only find one adapter and it's a Meade. I've been searching hard for three days now and I'm not finding any info as to it working on a Celestron.

PLEASE, help, I't took me a full year to save up for this scope and I can't afford to buy every thing again. My 2" SCT focuser, 2" diagonal, and ST-10 are made to fit 2" SCT threads.

#2 junomike

junomike

Hubble

• Moderators
  • Loc: Ontario

Posted 28 February 2020 - 12:52 PM

Just take off the 2" eyepiece adapter (from the SCT threads).

Now you should have the SCT threads you want.

#3 ngc7319_20

ngc7319_20

Apollo

• Loc: MD

Posted 28 February 2020 - 12:56 PM

You could have preciseparts.com make a custom one for $199.  Sorry I can't find a stock one anywhere.

You could also cobble one together for $110 using Astro-Physics parts:

https://www.astro-physics.com/ada204

https://www.astro-ph....com/adasctlc27

... but it will be nearly 2" long

#4 DuncanM

DuncanM

Mercury-Atlas

• -----
  • Loc: Arizona Sky Village or the rain forest

Posted 28 February 2020 - 01:05 PM

Celestron uses a 3.29in thread, and Meade uses a 3.25in thread, IIRC, however, they are typically interchangeable (Meade will accept the 3.29 thread, with no problems).

#5 Cyberpapa

Cyberpapa

Lift Off

• topic starter

Posted 28 February 2020 - 01:35 PM