•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Does a reducer actually decrease FL?

astrophotography beginner refractor
  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Astro Babak

Astro Babak

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 28 February 2020 - 02:53 PM

Hi all,

I'm new to AP and still building my rig. Got a Canon 70D DSLR and HEQ5 PRO mount, so what I'm missing is the scope! I've got my eyes on Evostar 72 APO Refractor telescope, with FL of 420 mm. 

My camera is a crop-sensor DSLR, so as far as I understand, I shall multiple the lens' FL by 1.6, which would give me 670 mm. With this focal length, I won't be able to fit M31 in my frame. Will a 0.8x focal reducer actually decrease the FL? 

Thanks all,

Babak

#2 Alex McConahay

Alex McConahay

Cosmos

• Loc: Moreno Valley, CA

Posted 28 February 2020 - 03:02 PM

>>>>>> My camera is a crop-sensor DSLR, so as far as I understand, I shall multiple the lens' FL by 1.6, which would give me 670 mm

Crop Factor strikes again......

Forget about the crop factor. 

THink only of Field of View. The "crop factor" does not change the focal length of your image. It only crops out the outer edge of your image. Instead of looking out a picture window, you are looking out a porthole!!! (OK, that is extreme, but it gets the point across.) At any rate the tree in the distance, whether through the porthole or the picture window is precisely the same size. The only difference in the picture is just how much more of the landscape you see out there. The tree is in the center of both, and precisely the same size. With the porthole, you only see the tree. With the picture window, you also see the surrounding lawn.

An 0.8 focal reducer will make your porthole more of a picture window, by a factor of (the inverse of ) 0.8.