•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Choice of scope

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 h00etn

h00etn

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 29 February 2020 - 02:01 AM

Hello,

Newbie here! Well, almost a newbie - planning for what scope to get to start imaging. I am doing my homework and have some experience with visual but want a refractor since I would like to have no to minimal maintenance. I want the carbon since I I read that I will have less focusing issues during the night so I am in for that.

I think I am going for the:
Explore Scientific Apochromatic refractor AP 102/714 ED FCD-100 CF Hexafoc OTA

but I also know that the wider the FOV the easier it will be so I am also considering the:
Orion Apochromatic refractor AP 80/480 ED Carbon OTA

Both are fairly slow, F7 vs F6 but with good guiding that should not be a problem. Both are apochromatic, the ES have the FCD-100 glass while the Orion has the FPL-53 glass.

Now, this is the way I am thinking, buying the ES and a 0.7 reducer so that I can get both the wider FOV and when I want a smaller FOV I'll shoot without the reducer.

Would you say that it is more difficult to use the 102/714 with a 0.7 reducer than to use the 80/480. Will it be much more difficult to use the 102/714? Any other relevant considerations?

Thanks in advance for your knowledge and kind regards,

Eric

#2 sg6

sg6

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 29 February 2020 - 02:44 AM

Not sure why carbon over a standard aluminium. Half the reason for asking is that carbon hasn't swept aluminium away so I assume that it has little or no advantage. If it were better then it would be more prevelant. Whereas it seems more of a novelty.