•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Abbreviations($@#!)!

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 huprich

huprich

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 29 February 2020 - 08:25 AM

I’m new to Cloudy Nights and to observing.  I’m frustrated by all of the abbreviations used in the posts and wondering if there is a guide that would help me translate them?

• vtornado, alstarjoey, sunnyday and 1 other like this

#2 TOMDEY

TOMDEY

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Springwater, NY

Posted 29 February 2020 - 08:33 AM

Yeah; someone posted a list here within the past year. There is also a tendency for some of us to use solo acronyms (acro) ... probably because it ~feels smart~ I try to use both the expression and the acro together, once... and then take it from there. That's actually the accepted practice (requirement!) in professional journal articles and patents! Well, gota return to my Apochromatic (APO) Refractor (Refracting Telescope).    Tom

Edited by TOMDEY, 29 February 2020 - 08:34 AM.

• tog, Asbytec and alstarjoey like this

#3 junomike

junomike

Hubble

• Moderators
  • Loc: Ontario

Posted 29 February 2020 - 08:36 AM

This should help (click link)

There's also a generic list from Wiki (although I don't use most of those).

• spereira, mrsjeff and sunnyday like this

#4 wrnchhead

wrnchhead

Surveyor 1

• Loc: NE Kansas

Posted 29 February 2020 - 08:57 AM

“Slobbering refractor freak”. LOL
  • RyanSem likes this

#5 sg6

sg6

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 29 February 2020 - 09:58 AM

A few are the names of the companies: SBIG, ATIK and others. So no real name for them, that is simply how they are known. ATIK probably stands for something but after say 10 years I have no idea what. And I have spoken face to face with them several times.

Some will change from one name to another over time.