•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Intes MK-63 Help

catadioptric classic equipment Maksutov accessories
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 havesomepham

havesomepham

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 March 2020 - 02:23 PM

This is my first time posting here, so please be nice.

Pictures: https://imgur.com/a/MIoUikC

I've had this Intes MK-63 Maksutov Telescope sitting in my basement for a while, and I have been able to get some good images of the Moon and Venus out of it. For this, I have been using an ad hoc focusing rig (rails) that connects directly to the back port of the telescope (which I believe is 50mm or 2") and into a T-Ring on my Nikon D3300. 

However, I would like to upgrade the focusing setup. I have a few objectives in mind,

1. Have a closed focusing rig
  2. Be able to insert eyepieces

By "closed," I mean that the current setup is susceptible to outside sources of light because it is completely open, which is not ideal. For planetary astrophotography, I need to be able to put a Barlow lens into the light train, and this just isn't possible with my current setup. I'm also worried about the base clearance; if the focusing rig is too long, it won't be able to clear the bottom of the fork mount when pointing straight up.

What parts do I need to be able to accomplish this? 

Thanks!

• Cometeer likes this

#2 photoracer18

photoracer18

Gemini

• Loc: Martinsburg, WV

Posted 19 March 2020 - 03:09 PM