•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Mains Power / Power Tank for EQ5 Mount

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 CSW

CSW

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 26 March 2020 - 09:52 AM

Hi, I have a question about my power supply. I run a Celestron AVX mount for AP. I have been using A celestron power tank for a couple of years. The last two outings on my garden the tank has run out of power after a couple of hours having been fully charged during the day  prior to my evening. So frustrated wiht this as I dont understand what the problem is. Can I use mains power/ Is something wrong with my fairly new power tank? I hope you may be able to help me. Thank you so much in advance.

Claire 

#2 macdonjh

macdonjh

Fly Me to the Moon

Posted 26 March 2020 - 10:20 AM

You said your Power Tank is fairly new, but I'll say this anyway: rechargeable batteries do eventually "wear out" and quit taking charge.  Perhaps you can find a Batteries N Bulbs Plus type of store and ask them to test the battery in your Power Tank.  You might have a bad battery.

Yes, you can use mains power with your mount.  You need to purchase a power supply which converts your mains (120VAC or 220VAC) to 12VDC.  For just your mount, a power supply with 2A capacity should be plenty.  

Could be something as simple as this (I don't know if this unit is of good quality or even if it has enough capacity, I'm only showing it as an example):

https://www.amazon.c...85235822&sr=8-8

Or something like this (I use something similar when I am at star parties that supply 120V power):

https://www.amazon.c...85235990&sr=8-4