•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

C11 Edge HD and Celestion OAG performance

astrophotography Celestron SCT
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Dovakun

Dovakun

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 26 March 2020 - 10:03 AM

I've been imaging deep sky objects for about 2 years with an ES ED102. Last month I decided to pull the trigger and upgrade to a C11 Edge HD. With some clear skies and all the accessories needed to get the scope running I was able to set it up and start trying to image at 2800mm... Needless to say it took some time to align the finder scope, check collimation, focus and guide. I was able to take some 5 min subs on M1 and M51 and while guide was great for what I was using with the ed 102, I'm thinking it may need to be better on the C11. My average RMS error was about .4. RA was as low as .19 but the Dec would spike every once in a while causing the ASIair to lose the star briefly. Has anyone experienced this? There are a few things I want to try such as improving the spacing for the OAG to get better focus and replacing the dc adapter for the dew heater (the 15v adapter is too high for the Thousand Oaks controller with the 11" strip). Below is a cropped image of M51 autostretched in PI taken during first light. The dark rings of course are dew which is easy enough to fix, but the star trails are going to be a bit trickier. Does anyone have tips for improving guiding or have the acceptable RMS error for a scope at this focal length?