•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Newbie here - first attempt at M51. Is this poor focus or just noise?

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 stream41

stream41

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 26 March 2020 - 05:08 PM

Hauled out the EQ6-R and the EdgeHD 8" last night! The EdgeHD has a 0.7 reducer on it now, putting it at ~1422mm and f/7. It got a little hazy about halfway through the session, and PHD2 lost its guide star a few times. That may be part of the problem?

This is about 70 minutes of light on M51 with an ASI183MC Pro. 70 lights, 30 flats, and 20 darks - all at 100 gain and 18F, calibrated/registered/integrated in PI. Had really bad amp glow and finally tried unchecking the "optimize dark frames" option in PI in the batch preprocessor, which did the trick - boom, no more amp glow.

Followed a pretty basic workflow in PI that I saw on Youtube - ABE, Color Calibration, then some adjustments using a basic mask.

Took me forever to get the focus right with live view in APT, and I'm still not sure if I missed, or if the blurriness is just noise from not having enough subs. What do you guys think?

Here's the full-resolution TIFF:

https://www.dropbox.... final.tif?dl=0

Attached Thumbnails

• M51 final.jpg

• dswtan, GlenM, DuncanM and 5 others like this

#2 zakry3323

zakry3323

Apollo

• Loc: Pittsburgh

Posted 26 March 2020 - 05:19 PM

The haze surely didn't help. To me, focus looks a little soft. What method are you using for focus? I don't use APT, does it use FWHM or Half Flux Radius to determine good focus? 

#3 stream41

stream41

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 26 March 2020 - 05:31 PM

The haze surely didn't help. To me, focus looks a little soft. What method are you using for focus? I don't use APT, does it use FWHM or Half Flux Radius to determine good focus?