•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Starting with the Wrong gear. SCT, DSlR nikon 3400.

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 EEBA

EEBA

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 28 March 2020 - 06:14 PM

Hi, I started the hobby with the wrong equipment. Originally, I only was looking into viewing astronomy. Now, I want to do viewing and astrophotography. I started with a celestron 8se, SCT. Also, I already own a nikon d3400. I am still learning about the sky (barely 2 months having my scope) and I came with the idea that It will be good to have 2 telescopes. One, doing astrophotography and the second to see keep learning about the sky. Since it is expensive to get more equipment, and I already spent more than 2k in my first set, my buying will be progressive. In the mean while, I wanted to use my sct to start getting a grasp on AP. I got excited, I bought a used notebook for 200 dollars to capture images. While I was researching about capturing images for the nikon D3400, the astrobackyard nikon doesn't support this model, I also researched and intervalometer dows no fit this model neither. At this point, I feel like I am stucked. So is this camera useless? Eventhough, trevor from astrophotography backyard recommended it for begginers?. Is there any way I can overcome this problem? Or what is the next step I have to take.
I know many of you had struggled with all kind issues, especially at the beginning. Please share your advice.

Enrique

#2 nitegeezer

nitegeezer

Galactic Ghost

Posted 28 March 2020 - 06:32 PM