•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Question about Orion Skyquest XX14g GoTo Dobsonian Scope

dob accessories beginner equipment Orion reflector
  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 SiriusBound

SiriusBound

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 29 March 2020 - 02:07 AM

Relative beginner here, and I just unboxed my new Orion Skyquest XX14g GoTo Dobsonian scope and am excited to take it out for several nights of viewing this week. One snag...I lost a minor component that I need to replace to fully assemble the scope - the three counterweight mounting bolts for the optical tube.

Judging from the instruction manual, these look like ordinary bolts and I should be able to pick up replacements at Home Depot. Does anyone have the size & dimensions of these bolts so I can make sure to get the right ones? Many thanks for your help!

Clear skies,

SiriusBound

• Jon Isaacs and lonn like this

#2 Jon Isaacs

Jon Isaacs

ISS

• Loc: San Diego and Boulevard, CA

Posted 29 March 2020 - 02:49 AM

Siriusbound:

Hello and :welcome: to Cloudy Nights... 

I can't help you but I am sure someone can.. 

You lost all three?

Jon

#3 SiriusBound

SiriusBound

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 29 March 2020 - 03:19 AM

Thanks for the note Jon. I believe all three were in one packet and I lost that packet, so I need to replace them all.

#4 ngc7319_20

ngc7319_20

Apollo

• Loc: MD

Posted 29 March 2020 - 04:32 AM

Judging from the picture in the manual, they are probably something like Metric M8 x 1.25mm (pitch) x 25mm (thread length).  Probably you could take one of the counter weights to the Home Depot or Lowes, and try some different bolts around that size.  The length probably needs to be long enough to pass through the mirror cell and through 2 counter weights.

#5 SiriusBound

SiriusBound

Lift Off

• -----