•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Correct way to setup electronic focuser on SCT

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Owk

Owk

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 29 March 2020 - 09:41 AM

G’Day members

im fairly new to electronic focusers. I purchased the ZWO EAF, and am struggling to set it up.

ive installed the hardware and ascom driver. All seems to work fine. 

the problem is I use my C925 for visual and EAA, both with and without a reducer. There doesn’t seem to be enough focus motor travel for the entire range focus. Is that how it should be?

if so, what’s the best way to setup so the focuser covers the focal lengths I need? There is very little instruction on how to do this, what to set zero position to, max step etc. all quite bewildering to me!

cheers

hemi

#2 carolinaskies

carolinaskies

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Greenville SC

Posted 29 March 2020 - 10:07 AM

What focuser are you using? Main focus knob or an external attached to the back?

If you can post a picture of the rear of your setup showing the EAF installed it would help.  

If you're using an electric attached to the main focus knob you shouldn't have any issues, if the EAF is somehow stopping then see if there is a limit being set in direction of travel. 

If you are using an external focuser remember that an SCT external has depending on which focuser only .5 to .9 travel.  In this case typically you set the external to 1/2 that distance (either .25 or .45) and do rough focus with the main primary mirror focuser first then move to the external.     

• Jon Isaacs and Old Speckled Hen like this

#3 Bob_Stan

Bob_Stan

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Northeast

Posted 29 March 2020 - 10:37 AM