•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Tracking with Sky-Watcher Star Adventurer

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 UnguardedPeach

UnguardedPeach

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 30 March 2020 - 06:06 PM

Hey everyone! So I'm pretty new to the astrophotography scene and I got a Star Adventurer for my birthday. I've had a few changes to use it and the first few times everything was working great and I was excited to continue this hobby. Now, a couple of weeks later, I was trying to get 90sec subs of the Orion Nebula and I noticed a bit of shakiness but I thought it was due to me adjusting the focus/zoom while getting everything framed up.

However, when I set my remote up for 40 shots, I came back when it was done only to see that all pictures had star trails the DSO had shifted from the center of the frame to the left side of the frame. I try and polar align as well as I can by using the Polar Finder app and I feel like it was where the app was telling me to place Polaris so I'm not sure what happened exactly.

Has anyone else had issues like this before? Thanks in advance!

First
Album: Orion Shift
2 images
0 comments

#2 bobzeq25

bobzeq25

ISS

Posted 30 March 2020 - 06:48 PM

We _all_ have had tracking issues. 

That much trailing in 90 seconds is unlikely to be polar alignment unless you're very far off.

More information is always better when you ask questions here.  90 second subs.  What camera and what lens?  How are you triggering the shutter?  A picture of the setup would be good.  You need a small jpg, so save it as something like 800X600.

#3 SteveInNZ

SteveInNZ

Viking 1

• Loc: Auckland, New Zealand

Posted 30 March 2020 - 07:03 PM

Your drift is in Declination which indicates a polar alignment error.