•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Rnc-color-stretch on a Mac

astrophotography dslr imaging
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 fluyendophoto

fluyendophoto

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Canary Islands

Posted 03 April 2020 - 05:41 AM

Good afternoon, I am quite new to astrophotography and really not much of a computer power user (I have a MacMini running OSX). I have been learning stacking and stretching using DSS and Photoshop, but I have come across Roger's website and wealth of information and have been blown away.

I also read about the rnc-color-stretch and hoped to give it a go, but because I am not very good with Terminal and programming, I have gotten stuck...

First, I tried to use it on OSX but got lost with all the command lines: I managed to install the file to the proper folder and Davinci, then I opened Terminal to to add
/Applications/davinci.app/Contents/Resources/bin to my path. I got this:

59070debec4a42adb51bf7f08a4eab7d.png

but then I was not able to proceed further (because i am a NOOB) because I do not know how to add /Applications/davinci.app/Contents/Resources/bin to the path.

I was able to open the Davinci exec on Terminal, which showed this:

e1081617bec044969b4be83c5928af53.png

but could not proceed any further to run rnc-color-stretch or locate my photo (which is in a folder in my desktop)

So I tried to run the GUI on my Mac enveloping it with Winebottler, and I got the program to open fine, I set up Davinci executable file and rnc-color-stretch script correctly, but when I press 'Stretch' I get this message:

b26ab660560b41c5a38f4a1fc2660ef6.png