•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Guiding through main camera

astrophotography beginner refractor
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Astro Babak

Astro Babak

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 07 April 2020 - 11:59 AM

Hello all,

I'm new to AP world and I'm setting up my rig with HEQ5 mount, SW 72ED refractor telescope and Canon 70D unmodified DSLR camera. I'm getting started with APT and it seems to be very feature-heavy. I can see everyone doing guiding with an extra guide camera and scope, so I was wondering why not use the main camera?! To be clear, I'm not talking about off-axis-guiding where I can use an extra camera + main scope to do guiding.

On another note, how long of an exposure can I go without guiding? I heard that HEQ5 should do a fine job of tracking without guiding. 

Thanks all

#2 Jim Davis

Jim Davis

Skylab

• Loc: Lewisberry, PA

Posted 07 April 2020 - 12:13 PM

Your guide camera needs to take lots and lots of short pictures, and make corrections based on each one. The main camera is busy taking long exposures.

• Astro Babak likes this

#3 D_talley

D_talley

Soyuz

• Loc: Albuquerque, New Mexico

Posted 07 April 2020 - 12:14 PM

Guiding with main camera has been asked many times before. Here is a link to one of them.

https://www.cloudyni...ing main camera

• Astro Babak likes this

#4 Madratter

Madratter

Voyager 1

Posted 07 April 2020 - 12:16 PM

With your 72ED and the EQ5 you can probably go at least 30s. You might need to reject some subs, but a fair percentage will be at least usable on some level. I recommend doing some imaging without guiding first before jumping into the world of guiding.

Guiding is usually done with a camera other than the main, because the main camera usually is using exposures too long to use for guiding.