•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Star pointer on Celeston 130slt way off..

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 mattmanire

mattmanire

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 07 April 2020 - 12:36 PM

Just got this telescope..but no way will it align..even with the knobs (up down // left right).

See picture. Its way off as in least an inch. Am I doing something stupid? I have it aligned now, kind of as you can see. But surly must be better solution?

Thanks.

Matt (complete noob on telescopes).

Edit.*..I do know its meant to be in the slot and tightened in. But its just so off, like I said, there is no way it will align in that original slot.

I have cardboard underneath it to align it and tape, as you can see.

Attached Thumbnails

• eyepiece.jpg

Edited by mattmanire, 07 April 2020 - 12:39 PM.

#2 Jon Isaacs

Jon Isaacs

ISS

• Loc: San Diego and Boulevard, CA

Posted 07 April 2020 - 12:54 PM

Matt:

First let me say Hello and :welcome: to Cloudy Nights.  And congratulations on your scope.. 

That certainly is a creative solution but I am assuming you would like something a little cleaner.

With the finder in it's normal slot, which way is it out?  Up and down or left and right?  

How far is it out?  Is it pretty close or a long ways?  I have had problems with similar finders. On the same scope, a better red dot can be aligned but these cannot.

Jon

• mattmanire likes this

#3 jeffreym

jeffreym

Mariner 2

• Loc: La Crosse, WI

Posted 07 April 2020 - 12:55 PM

I see you have it just sitting on the optical tube and not mounted in the finder shoe.

I find it a common problem with red dot finders that there isn't quite enough adjustment in the two knobs sometimes.