•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Beginner interested in AP

astrophotography beginner
  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 sku

sku

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 08 April 2020 - 08:36 PM

Hi All,

I am a beginner and I am interested in AP. Having read these forums, I understand that the mount is critical. Is the HEQ5 a good mount for AP? 

Also, it seems that most telescopes come with their own mount and tripod? So would I be double paying? Will most telescopes fit on most mounts?

My budget is $3K. 

Thanks

• Hobby Astronomer likes this

#2 dhaval

dhaval

Vendor

• Vendors
  • Loc: Round Rock, TX

Posted 08 April 2020 - 08:56 PM

Yes, the mount is critical. No, you can't fit all telescopes on most mounts. Also no, most decent telescopes actually are sold as an OTA or just the tube. There are other things that you need to buy in order to take images.

Having said that, the first thing to ask is - what kind of AP are you trying to get in to? Planetary or DSO? For DSO, the HEQ5 is a decent mount, assuming you have a smallish scope mounted on it. Think a small refractor. If you are trying to do planetary, the scope, camera and mount requirements will be significantly different and the HEQ5 won't be good enough.

Hoping that helps.

CS!

#3 OhmEye

OhmEye

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Western NY Southern Tier

Posted 08 April 2020 - 09:06 PM

Most scopes that include a mount that I see are for visual use with ALT/AZ mounts. Most scopes ideal for AP do not include a mount, and a good EQ mount is often a more significant expense. A good 60-80mm APO refractor costs less than pretty much any mount worth mounting it on for AP.

#4 rgsalinger

rgsalinger

Fly Me to the Moon

• Moderators
  • Loc: Carlsbad Ca

Posted 08 April 2020 - 09:48 PM