•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Orion SkyQuest XT6 vs XT8 beginner questions

• Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1 Ethan2102

Ethan2102

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 09 April 2020 - 10:30 AM

Hey, I’m new to the forum and and have been searching for my first telescope for a while now. I’ve decided that I think I wanna get the Orion Skyquest XT6 because of the attractive price as I’m just starting out. However as I’ve been researching I see alot of people also enjoy the XT8 and scraping up some extra money wouldn’t be too much of an issue. So I have a few questions about which would ultimately be the better option.

Coming from a beginner who only used a telescope a handful of times, is there a major difference in ease of use that would make it more difficult to use the XT8 than the XT6?

As for plantetary viewing is there a significant difference in the quality and detail  of the viewing between the two? Are you able to see Neptune and Uranus with the XT6 or do you need the XT8? I would like to do a decent amount of planetary observation but don’t need a amount of detail.

As for deep sky viewing, this where I’m mostly stuck between the two. I know the capacity to view DSO increases with aperture, but how good is the XT6 at spotting those objects? I would like to be able to view galaxies and planetary nebulas, so should I go for the XT8 or would I be satifised with the viewing capabilities of the XT6?

Sorry for all the questions, I would just like to make sure I make the right purchase. This will likely be my only telescope for a while so I would like pick one that I like. Thanks for the help.

Ethan

#2 Abhat

Abhat

Vanguard

• Loc: Central Maryland, USA

Posted 09 April 2020 - 10:35 AM