•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Connections, connections, connections...

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 TXDigiSLR

TXDigiSLR

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Dallas, TX

Posted 10 April 2020 - 07:23 AM

First, I am still very new to this wonderful, and expensive, Astrophotography hobby.   That being said, I am always looking toward the future and planning.  I know I have so many things to learn, but I'm always thinking about what's next and either saving money for it, or planning on how it might work.

My question now...   What kind of hubs, power stations, and cable management systems do you serious AP people use?  To be more specific, I currently have a DSLR, a ZWO Guide camera, and my mount.  All three are USB to my laptop.  the laptop and the mount (while in my back yard) are plugged into an extension cord.   In the future, I can see adding a ZWO EAF which will require a USB cable and a power cable.  How about a filter wheel?  Another connection to the laptop for control... does it require power also, or are they powered via USB?  What if I switch to a cooled CMOS camera instead of my DSLR?  That still will require a USB to the laptop, and now another power cable.  Hold on, Dew Heaters?  Those need power too!  Do they connect to the laptop also?     (I seriously think my breaker for my patio outlet is only 15 AMPS)

I'm smart enough to know that you can buy a simply USB Hub, but I've heard that some things don't like to run through a hub.  Oh wait, should I get a powered hub?  more power cables!!!

Somehow, somwehere there has to be a powered USB hub, with multiple 12 Volt DC Outputs to just plug everything into.

Will someone please enlighten me?

Thank you very much!

#2 ChrisWhite

ChrisWhite

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Colchester, VT

Posted 10 April 2020 - 08:07 AM