•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Normal hot pixels or did I damage my sensor?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Deesk06

Deesk06

Mariner 2

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: New Jersey

Posted 10 April 2020 - 07:50 AM

Ill give a quick back story. 

I was imaging for the first time this week and trying to figure out my capture software. well I set it up to take like 80 exposures of about 60 seconds. Come back out an hour and 20 min later to check on my light frames, only to see that there were just two light frames, which were my test shots. Upset, but no big deal I am a beginner. Maybe I had the location file wrong or the camera was not working properly. So I go to my camera and that's when I notice it has been taking a single exposure for OVER AN HOUR. Yikes! I immediately stopped it and broke down my equipment thinking I could try the next night. At this point I was blaming the capture software for not working properly to my parameters. So I go and set up the next night. This time I sit near the camera and watch it take my frames for about 10 minutes. Browsing cloudy nights at the same time etc. All looks good this time; must have been a hiccup with the software the previous night.  Off I go to let it be for another hour. Well, I come back out and there it was again, a SINGLE 45 MINUTE EXPOSURE! I am cursing now wondering **** is going on. Then it hit me. I had the CPU go into rest mode after 1 minute of down time. I thought since I had the capture software running it wouldn't allow it to go into rest mode. Finally figuring it out after super deep-frying my sensor for 2 hours basically.