•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

What is an Astronomer?

• Please log in to reply
70 replies to this topic

#1 piccolo3200

piccolo3200

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 10 April 2020 - 08:09 AM

I have seen a couple of threads on here discussing the idea of what makes a person an astronomer - whether amateur or professional. There was discussion of whether armchair astronomy makes a person an astronomer and what the minimum observation time is to be considered an astronomer. I am by no means an expert on the subject, but since I saw no one who shared my opinion on the subject and since the old topics were archived, I thought I would open this post.

I disagree with the notion of observing being any kind of requirement to be an astronomer. Astronomy is a science, and an astronomer is a type of scientist. Although observing and studying are useful tools in astronomy, I don't think they make a person an astronomer. In my opinion a person could study astronomy all day and go out and look at the stars in a telescope all night and still only be an observer, not an astronomer.

So if observing or learning about astronomy doesn't make a person an astronomer then what does? Again, an astronomer is a scientist - so they need to produce some results. It could be making a new discovery or publishing a paper, but it doesn't have to be that advanced. I think simply keeping an observing log or making sketches of what you see is sufficient to be called an astronomer. Certainly astrophotography would be sufficient. Even posting on this forum could be sufficient.