•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Celestron CR150 f/8 HD6 ?

• Please log in to reply
132 replies to this topic

#1 Echolight

Echolight

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Texas

Posted 02 May 2020 - 02:13 PM

Hey folks. I'm a beginner looking to buy my first telescope. I had a post in the beginner section, and my intention was to buy a 10" dob, a small refractor, and a 5" Mak.

But this big old refractor seems to be calling my name.

Anyway, was wondering what you guys think of these? What would be a fair offer for me to make on a complete scope in very good condition without mount? And what's a good sturdy mount to pair with this fairly large scope without breaking the bank?

Thanks

Edited by Echolight, 02 May 2020 - 02:16 PM.

#2 SDTopensied

SDTopensied

Viking 1

• Loc: Atlanta

Posted 02 May 2020 - 02:23 PM

They're actually decent observing scopes.  Be warned...it's huge!  I put mine on a Celestron AVX and it carries it quite well for observing believe it or not.  I would not, under any circumstances, try to image with this scope on an AVX.  If you decide to put it on an AVX, you'll need two counterweights.

The focuser isn't great, but it isn't bad.  I decided to put a Moonlite on mine and it has become my favorite observing scope.  It definitely has some CA around bright stars (not a lot) and quite a bit around the moon.

-Steve

#3 SeattleScott

SeattleScott

Cosmos

Posted 02 May 2020 - 02:45 PM

Hey folks. I'm a beginner looking to buy my first telescope. I had a post in the beginner section, and my intention was to buy a 10" dob, a small refractor, and a 5" Mak.

Anyway, was wondering what you guys think of these? What would be a fair offer for me to make on a complete scope in very good condition without mount? And what's a good sturdy mount to pair with this fairly large scope without breaking the bank?