•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Newbie here.

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 starbob1

starbob1

Vanguard

• topic starter
  • Loc: IN

Posted 09 May 2020 - 10:13 AM

Been doing  astro imaging with a DSLR for years. But now want a new hobby. Want to learn how to take pic though a microscope. Thought about using my Canon 450d but it seems like it would be to heavy, I have a decent Edmunds Scientific compound scope I bought years ago. It has nice optics and built good for the $200 I paid. But would like to get a Stereo Bino low power scope.  I did not even know Cloudy Nights had a Microscope forum. So cool, Thanks

#2 astroneil

astroneil

Vanguard

Posted 12 May 2020 - 02:01 AM

Hello Starbob 1,

Unfortunately, I don't know very much about stereo-microscopes, but this chap, who is a microbiologist and very keen amateur microscopist, has a lot of good advice on all sorts of microscopes: 

https://www.youtube....h?v=EhjAS6Bewjk

He seems to have an eye out for bargains too, and does lots of imaging based on his other videos, so I think if you contacted him, he'd likely point you in the right direction. See info on this link:

https://www.youtube....PNzNsbLug/about

Sorry I can't be more helpful.

Good luck with your purchases!

Neil.

• starbob1 likes this

#3 starbob1

starbob1

Vanguard

• topic starter

Posted 13 May 2020 - 07:05 AM

Thanks Neil ; I found a great site for Microscopes

Microbehunters. They have a great forum for all things microscopes. I found a nice Amscope Stereo scope. 

#4 astroneil

astroneil

Vanguard

Posted 13 May 2020 - 10:38 AM

You're welcome Bob!

Yep, I've been subscribing to Microbehunter for a while now. Never seen such an enthusiastic guy about microscopes and microscopy before!

He's got loads of projects to explore and even saved me a lot of dosh on stuff I thought I would need.