•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Locating Faint Photometric Targets

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 John Downing

John Downing

Vostok 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted 19 May 2020 - 12:19 PM

I am just getting started once again, with a goal of beginning photometry. Currently using APT and have plate solving operating well with ASTAP & PS2. 

ASTAP has a function called Star Annotation and Photometry that looks like just what I need. But am wondering what is the best and/or recommended method of pointing to and identifying photometric targets and comparison stars? Have referred to the AAVSO CCD guide and it isn't specific (from what I can find) in this area. ASTAP identifies and provides magnitudes for comparison stars with a display that matches the AAVSO charts. Very nice if I can get it to work with APT and my mount.

What software and methods are photometrists using to 'go to' their targets? Is there a way to include this ASTAP function into my APT/Cartes du Ciel/CEM60 combination? 

My apologies if I have missed something in AAVSO publications or this forum's posts. Please refer these to me if this is the case. 

Thanks,

John

#2 StarmanDan

StarmanDan

Aurora

• Loc: Where the stars at night are big and bright...

Posted 21 May 2020 - 09:33 PM

My club is heavily involved in photometry and operates a .6m RC. Our scope software does not have the ability to sync on plate solved images, so We find our targets the old fashioned way, enter the target coordinates in our control software and goto it. Take image, and compare to charts provided by AAVSO or other source. Helps to have the image oriented to match the charts. Haven't had any problems finding our targets.

#3 John Downing

John Downing

Vostok 1

• topic starter

Posted 22 May 2020 - 09:50 AM

Thanks Dan,