•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Does Schmidt-Cassegrain telescopes need corrector or flattener?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 gelolac

gelolac

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 23 May 2020 - 07:39 AM

Hi, newbie here.

I have a refractor but planning to upgrade to an SCT in the future mainly because of their focal length (Im more interested in Galaxies). I've seen that there's a F6.3 focal reducer/corrector but haven't seen(or maybe I haven't looked enough) a corrector that does not reduce the focal length? Is there one such? And does SCTs need a flattener?

#2 SilverLitz

SilverLitz

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Louisville, KY

Posted 23 May 2020 - 08:59 AM

Newbie, here as well, but I believe SCTs need coma correctors, instead of FF.  The EdgeHDs have the coma corrector (lenses) embedded inside the tube, so Edges do not need an additional corrector.  The 0.63x FR/corrector for "normal" Celestron SCTs corrects for coma in addition to being focal reducers, nothing else needed.

#3 james7ca

james7ca

Cosmos

• Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted 23 May 2020 - 09:15 AM

Probably the only long-focus SCT that is in common use that doesn't require some type of flattener or reducer/corrector for moderate to wide-field DSO imaging in the EdgeHD series from Celestron. Having said that any scope can be used without a flattener but that just means that there is some limited field that can be covered without issues. So, it depends upon the size of your sensor. I'm not sure how wide of a field a standard SCT can cover, I'd guess maybe something between 5 and 10mm on the diagonal and probably not much different than an uncorrected refractor.

Meade also offers an Advanced Coma-Free SCT that should work well for DSO work, but it probably needs a flattener or reducer to equal the field that is offered by the EdgeHD series.