•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Adding an Autoguider

astrophotography equipment
  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Buttery_Biscuit_Base

Buttery_Biscuit_Base

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 23 May 2020 - 07:52 AM

Hi, I'm looking at adding an autoguider to my current imaging setup. I'm a complete beginner when it comes to autoguiding, and just wondering if purchasing the following two items would be a good first step and will get me some good results? My budget is £300-£400.

• Orion Deluxe Mini 50mm Guide Scope with Helical Focuser
  • ZWO ASI 120MM Mini USB 2.0 Mono Camera

I was also thinking about the Sky-Watcher EvoGuide 50ED Guidescope, but I'm not entirely sure its worth its £159 price tag, when the Orion Deluxe Mini is only £96.99. Can anyone share their experiences with either of these guide scopes?

I'm looking to get much longer exposures out of my current setup, which is as follows:

• Sky-Watcher Explorer 150P-DS (f/5 - 750mm focal length)
  • Sky-Watcher HEQ5 PRO
  • Nikon D3200
  • Lynx Astro EQDIR USB for EQMOD and StellariumScope

Advise on the above, or any other autoguider recommendations would be greatly appreciated. I intend to start using PHD2, once I buy everything required for autoguiding.

#2 Cometeer

Cometeer

Vanguard

• Loc: SF Bay Area, California or Illinois

Posted 23 May 2020 - 08:26 PM

The Evoguide isn’t necessary. A guide scope does not have to be optically perfect to function. I also do not recommend that Orion Deluxe Mini Guide. It uses a rubber o-ring to mount into the finder stalk/holder. This could cause flexure. You want a guide scope that uses two sets of rings for a solid connection. 

+1 for the ZWO camera. Will work fine. 

Edited by Cometeer, 23 May 2020 - 08:26 PM.

#3 GrafikDihzahyn

GrafikDihzahyn

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Fly-Over State