•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Sun in CaK first image

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Stargazer3236

Stargazer3236

Skylab

• ****-
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Waltham, MA

Posted 23 May 2020 - 04:07 PM

I am just starting out in Solar Imaging, although I have been imaging deepsky and planets for the last 5 years. Here is my first shot, in CaK using an AT80ED telescope, Lunt 1.25" Herschel Wedge and a Baader CaK double stacked Solar Filter attached to my ASI294MC camera. Image taken using SharpCap 3.2 Pro, processed in Autostakkert!2 and wavelets in Registax 6.

Attached Thumbnails

• Sun_160229_g4_ap30.jpg

• SgrB2, hopskipson, torsinadoc and 2 others like this

#2 hopskipson

hopskipson

Vanguard

• Loc: Queens, New Yawk, Light pollution Headquarters!

Posted 23 May 2020 - 07:08 PM

Not bad for a first attempt.  I'm a little surprised you captured some of the plage with such a wide bandpass filter waytogo.gif.  I purchased an Omega Ca K II on ebay and it has a slightly narrower bandpass.  I mainly use it to double stack my Lunt filter. What I found to be better was to match the sensor to scope.  With the 294 sensor at 393 nm wavelength you want to be closer to f/29 so a barlow may be worth a try.

#3 sunnyday

sunnyday

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Ottawa,Canada

Posted 23 May 2020 - 08:25 PM

it is very successful for the first time.
thanks.

#4 Stargazer3236

Stargazer3236

Skylab

• ****-
  • topic starter

Posted 23 May 2020 - 10:03 PM