•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

New to Astronomy, curious about GoTo mounts.

beginner equipment Meade mount
  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 BGF

BGF

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: North East, UK

Posted 24 May 2020 - 06:42 AM

Hi all.

I'm very new to astronomy, having bought my first scope (70mm Meade Refractor) within the last month or so. I've read a little about GoTo mounts and I definitely think it's something that I'd be interested in, particularly when observing with friends when Covid isn't such an issue. I guess I have a lot of beginners questions about which mounts are generally considered high-quality and what to look out for when thinking about purchasing.

If I was to seriously think about purchasing a GoTo mount then would I be better off getting just the tripod & mount and using my current refractor? Or is it more sensible (& cost effective?) to purchase a new OTA too? 

#2 Ranjit

Ranjit

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 24 May 2020 - 07:09 AM

If you already are satisfied with your refractor, then I would just recommend a mount and tripod. I would recommended a basic go to mount that can carry your refractor for visual use. If at any time in the future you intend to do Astrophotography, my recommendation would be for a go to mount which can carry at least twice the payload capacity that you would have in mind at that point just because you can upgrade the OTA and still the mount would be usable. I made a mistake early on purchasing a Celestron 4SE Nexstar for visual thinking naively that Iā€™ll use it for Astrophotography as well.. Lesson learned! šŸ˜„

#3 eyeoftexas

eyeoftexas

Viking 1

Posted 24 May 2020 - 08:48 AM