•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Is off axis guiding suitable for my setup?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Douwe79

Douwe79

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 24 May 2020 - 04:02 PM

Hi all, 

Beginner here (1 year in AP now). 

I am considering switching from a guide scope to an OAG because I suspect my current setup (with guide scope) has severe flexure problems. My stars are never round and when I stack them (undithered and without aligning) the stars have shifted between images. I get elongated / egg shaped stars even with decent guiding (0.6-0.7 RMS arc-sec) and excellent PA. 

My focal length is 630 mm, F6.9. My guide camera in an QHY-5II-M. 

My main camera is a Canon 750D. 

My mount is a EQ6 pro.

My questions about OAG are: 

1. Is an OAG guider a good option for mu setup and do you have specific recommendations ? 

2. I heard an OAG can improve your guiding since image scale is the same as main telescope, is that correct? 

3. When using an OAG, I cannot use sharpcap for PA anymore, since you need a guide scope to PA in Sharp cap. What are the best alternatives? I was thinking about the Polemaster. I also thought about drift aligning but I don't have a good view to the south/equator. I dont know if its possible to drift align near the zenith/meridian? 

Thank in advance! 

Douwe 

#2 Cfreerksen

Cfreerksen

Apollo

• Loc: Tooele, Ut

Posted 24 May 2020 - 04:20 PM

You may not have enough back focus with a DSLR. The camera sucks up 55mm. An OAG will take up about another 16mm or more. What is the back focus required for your scope/flattener?

Chris

#3 astrohamp

astrohamp

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Massachusetts

Posted 24 May 2020 - 06:19 PM