•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Need help diagnosing round but slightly large stars

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 shitijb

shitijb

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Posted 24 May 2020 - 07:16 PM

First time using a telescope and an astro camera, got 30 min of data on M81 last Friday. I was assuming I would fail miserably since it is my first time with a completely new setup, but I guess I did better than I expected

Autosave 2

However I think the size of stars looks a little big (compared to lets say: https://www.astrobin.com/brcrj2/0/). And it shows even more when I crop in. My setup is this:

1. Orion astrograph 8" with Baader mpcc mark 3 coma corrector
  2. ASI 183mm pro with EFW filter wheel and L3 Astronomic filter
  3. Guiding with SSAG Pro, 60mm guidescope, PHD2
  4. Orion Atlas EQ-G
  5. Used a bahtinov mask to focus with APT bahtinov aid
  6. Processing: stacked in DSS with default settings and played with some sliders in Adobe lightroom

My guiding RMS according to PHD2 was 1.16" (RA: 0.62", DEC: 0.97") with polar alignment error at 0.0'. I think the DEC RMS was higher because I didn't balance my newtonion axially. Both guidescope and camera + filter wheel are hanging on one side, I'm trying to fix this.

How do I make the stars tighter? Did I miss focus? Or is there a collimation issue? Or is the higher RMS in guiding causing this?

#2 Kevin Ross

Kevin Ross

Viking 1

• Loc: Traverse City, MI

Posted 24 May 2020 - 07:59 PM

A number of factors can contribute to bloated stars. It could be guiding. It could be focus. Or it could be your processing. Can you post the unstretched (but stacked) autosave.tif from DSS to a file sharing site like Dropbox? And maybe a single unprocessed sub, too. Also, your PHD2 guiding (not debug) log would be helpful.