•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Nexstar 4GT

Celestron
  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Sensei1956

Sensei1956

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 27 May 2020 - 09:27 PM

I'm kinda new to all this and there is so much information out there it's hard to get a handle on it all.  I have an older Nexstar 4GT, the hand control is version 101.0.  Can I update the software for it and if not can the control itself be replaced with a newer version?
Thanks to everyone that post information here.  I've learned a lot but have still only scratched the surface.

#2 barbarosa

barbarosa

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: 139 miles W of the Awahnee Hotel

Posted 27 May 2020 - 09:55 PM

https://www.nexstars...GTFirmware.htm  might have the answer. For other models check  https://www.nexstarsite.com/Firmware.htm

#3 Michael_Swanson

Michael_Swanson

Author of The NexStar Users Guide

• Vendors

Posted 27 May 2020 - 11:06 PM

I'm kinda new to all this and there is so much information out there it's hard to get a handle on it all.  I have an older Nexstar 4GT, the hand control is version 101.0.  Can I update the software for it and if not can the control itself be replaced with a newer version?
Thanks to everyone that post information here.  I've learned a lot but have still only scratched the surface.

The version 101.0 GT hand control cannot be updated.  You can purchase a used (as they are no longer manufactured) version 4 hand control and load the GT 4.03 or GT 4.04 firmware.  It is quite an improvement for most GT mounts.  One common source is a search on ebay.com for "nexstar* hand controller".  Regardless the mount in the description of the eBay advertisement (GT/CPC/SLT/LCM/etc.), any version 4 HC works once it is loaded with the correct firmware.

Best regards,
Mike Swanson
https://www.NexStarSite.com

#4 Sensei1956