•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Galaxy observing - what to expect?

• Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#1 philinbris

philinbris

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 29 May 2020 - 06:57 PM

Hi All,

I am a newbie (hence posting here instead of DSO forum) and I have started to venture into locating galaxies in my relatively light polluted backyard (Bortle 5 to 6). I have been trying to find any - just one even one galaxy but have not succeeded. I am now wondering if what I am expecting to see and what is reality through an eye piece are not the same. I see the marvelous astro photos of galaxies but I believe not to expect anything like those in my eye piece as the photos are often may frames of long exposure stacked together.

A little about my setup. I have an 8 inch newt and a 12 inch dob both f5. I have primarily used the dob as I know galaxies are low light level so I thought the bigger aperture would be good here. I have used a number of eye pieces from a 2 inch 28mm to 1.5 inch 10mm, 16, 20mm and a 7-21mm zoom. No Barlow used yet but I have 2x and 3x 1.5 inch.

What have I been trying to locate is M104 sombrero as that is, or should be, quite observable from my location (Brisbane Australia). I know exactly where it should be at a given time and no amount of slewing / panning and eye piece changes seem to locate it. I use a digital level to get me close and then move up and down (alt) slowly by about 5 or 6 degrees and side to side (az) about 30 degrees of where the target should be according to Stellarium. I easily find other targets using this method so assume I should be on the right track for M104.

What am I doing wrong?

Has anyone got any suggestions?

Am I expecting a discernible object when it might be just a fuzz ball?

Cheers

Phil

#2 Paul Skee

Paul Skee