•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

8-26 Zoom to bino nose

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 uhoh

uhoh

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 29 May 2020 - 10:35 PM

Well, i supposed sooner or later i'd have say something.. I'm new to the hobby and purchased my first scope, a Evo 6 and wedged it about 4 months ago. Then, a couple months ago i came across a deal on a couple of barely used 8" scopes.. a wedged Evo 8 w/starsense and an LX200gps acf w/feathertouch. I had already figured that at 63 and failing eyesight, bino's were going to be a necessity. I located 4 microscopes locally for $35, 3 Zeiss and an Amscope of which 2 had mirror and block prism and 2 full prism. So when CV-19 Genie was uncorked and we swapped domains, i had a lot of time for guitar and telescope projects. After seeing some bino mods this forum, i cobbled together 4 pair using just a small drill press and chop saw. I had picked up a piece of 1-1/4 x .035 wall 6061 tubing for the 30mm Zeiss ep's i had been collecting and it made for a nice sleeve with a little brake cylinder hone. I can hardly believe the views one can achieve, especially with the Zeiss mirror/prism bino's paired w/ E-PL 10x/25 ep's, and how EASY they are to see through.. Ok.. enough already.. I really do have a question. What type of lenses/ep's would i need if i thread an 8-26 zoom to the nose of the bino..? 

#2 uhoh

uhoh

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 30 May 2020 - 12:48 AM

20200529_182823.jpg This is what i am wondering about optically..

#3 uhoh

uhoh

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 30 May 2020 - 12:56 AM

Guess i'll give it a look in this configuration with some different eyepieces when i get back home..

#4 PETER DREW

PETER DREW

Apollo

Posted 30 May 2020 - 04:16 AM