•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Rho Ophiuchi - harder than it seems. try my data?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 mewmartigan

mewmartigan

Apollo

• topic starter
  • Loc: outside of Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 31 May 2020 - 09:43 AM

Hey everyone,

This is just a hair under 9 hours of data with an ASI2600MC Pro and a Spacecat, taken over 2 nights. 4 minute subs at 0 gain and 0 degrees. It doesn't seem to get all that high in the sky around here which makes it difficult with the Pittsburgh light dome.

Looking at other pictures of the cloud complex, they are exploding with bright color and if the integration times are to be believed on Astrobin, I should have way more here.

I am not a Pixinsight expert by any means but I am not new either.

C&C welcome.

get.jpg?insecure

Here is a link to the stacked and otherwise untouched xisf file if anyone wants to try (300MB):

https://drive.google...iew?usp=sharing

• Joe F Gafford, astrofun and chrysalis like this

#2 Lead_Weight

Lead_Weight

Apollo

• Loc: Houston

Posted 31 May 2020 - 11:43 AM

Here's my attempt at processing. I could have used a bit better star mask to protect the largest stars a little better, but was going through the process quickly.

I have this exact setup, and want to image the same object, so happy to try it out.

Your L-Pro filter should probably be taken out, as it's generating large halos on the brightest stars. Shorter subs, would help compensate for the light pollution without needing the filter. Otherwise there's plenty of good data here.

rho.jpg

• Joe F Gafford, mewmartigan and Diomedes like this

#3 mewmartigan

mewmartigan

Apollo

• topic starter

Posted 31 May 2020 - 11:51 AM

Yeah, I noticed the Halo too. It is clear tonight. I wonder if it's worth removing the filter and seeing what results I get before going to another target.