•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Best Planetary telescope: 6" SCT OR 6" MAK

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Stargazer3236

Stargazer3236

Skylab

• ****-
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Waltham, MA

Posted 01 June 2020 - 08:11 PM

I am thinking of buying a new telescope for planetary imaging only. I am looking at the Meade LX65 with either the 6" F/15 Mak or the 6" F/10 ACF SCT. Which one will give me the best resolution for imaging Jupiter and Saturn?

#2 Augustus

Augustus

Fly Me To The Moon

• Loc: Stamford, Connecticut

Posted 01 June 2020 - 08:25 PM

IMO, no point. You have a C8 which will beat either

• George Bailey, eros312, Hesiod and 1 other like this

#3 Stellar1

Stellar1

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Ontario, Canada

Posted 01 June 2020 - 08:32 PM

Well, I am not an expert but, I can tell you that I had a 6 inch mak and, when it comes to the moon and planets, Mak's kick @#S and ask questions later. The smaller central obstruction allows for a slightly more contrasted image and, they tend to hold collimation like nothin..g else, short of a grenade blast of course. My skywatcher mak provided some nice images of Jupiter, Saturn, and Mars, using a bare bones cheap camera. When it comes to Lunar, my mak was unstoppable, razor sharp views that just begged for more magnification. If you'd like I could PM you some images I took, I'm sure others will weigh in with more detailed information but, trust me on this one, you'd love a mak.

The only reason I sold my Mak is because I came across a deal I couldn't refuse on a triplet APO, I can see myself getting a mak again, for sure, I always sell a scope for another then realize I shouldn't have then buy it again.

• gitane71 likes this

#4 fcathell

fcathell

Apollo

• Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 01 June 2020 - 08:49 PM

For imaging I would have to agree with Augustus.