•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Centering objects in the eyepiece

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Monk80

Monk80

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Helmond Netherlands

Posted 05 June 2020 - 10:21 AM

Dear All,

As I am new to working with an AltAz Goto telescope of course along the way some questions arise.

I feel a bit stupid for asking this one, I tried to reason this one but cant get my head around it:

So when I'm all set up in AltAz alignment I feel comfortable now selecting objects and goto'ing to them. (Which is such an awesome sensation!) Certain objects however require (when in precision mode) to center a star and only then will it slew to the final destination say 'ring nebula'. Can one only use the NESW keys on the pad for centering? Even on slew speed two the scope moves so fast that precise centering is frustratingly difficult. (same goes for when aligning actually..)

The thought occurred to me: wouldn't one actually improve the alignment by rotating the physical positioning knobs to center an object in the eyepiece that the GOTO system slewed to and thinks it is centered on but is actually a bit off? 

I recognise the fact that when in the process of aligning it would make sense to just use NESW keys because the system needs a hard reference from the encoders at the motors? But tweaking along the way with the knobs would f* up alignment and tracking direction?

Sorry this may come across as ignorant I know..

Best,

Monk  

#2 TimK

TimK

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: Avon, OH

Posted 05 June 2020 - 10:31 AM

Once aligned ONLY use the keypad on the controller to move the scope.

Anything else will mess up the alignment.

You should be able to set the manual slew speed on the keypad and yes you will have to slow it down some.