Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Am I the only one with a wiring diagram?

  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 cshine

cshine

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 204
  • Joined: 26 May 2018
  • Loc: Houston, Texas

Posted 05 June 2020 - 05:48 PM

So my wife saw me working on this wiring diagram today and made it clear that it was the saddest, nerdiest thing she had seen me do in a while (which is saying something). I told her that this was all perfectly normal behavior in our hobby and that "all the cool astro imagers do it". She is not buying it.

 

Anyway, I figured I'd share it and see if (a) I really am alone on this one and (b) if anyone has suggestions for improvements on the setup. Also if anyone wants to share their own diagram that might help me win back a tiny amount of respect here at home. 

 

ScopeWiring.JPG


  • dswtan, dmdouglass and Peter Zbib like this

#2 Ken Sturrock

Ken Sturrock

    Cardinal Ximenez (No one expects the Spanish Inquisition)

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 8,686
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2009
  • Loc: Denver, CO

Posted 05 June 2020 - 05:54 PM

I've certainly made them but I usually just drew them freehand (during work meetings...)


  • Dynan and cshine like this

#3 Richard O'Neill

Richard O'Neill

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2,413
  • Joined: 19 Aug 2014

Posted 05 June 2020 - 05:56 PM

You have plenty of company. I've done much the same. It's a reasonable approach and much better than trying keep it all in your head.


  • cshine likes this

#4 mtc

mtc

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 416
  • Joined: 04 Apr 2005
  • Loc: Bortle 6, MA

Posted 05 June 2020 - 06:04 PM

Yup, I have one too!
  • cshine likes this

#5 radial195

radial195

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 252
  • Joined: 31 Aug 2012
  • Loc: Kingman, Az.

Posted 05 June 2020 - 06:07 PM

I just do it in my head, but I did wiring for a living. Sorry, can't help on winning your respect back, you'll hafta' find some other "manly" project for that!


  • cshine likes this

#6 fewayne

fewayne

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 849
  • Joined: 10 Sep 2017
  • Loc: Madison, WI, USA

Posted 05 June 2020 - 06:07 PM

I just start plugging things in and then if smoke comes out, I stop REALLY REALLY FAST.

 

Kevin's suggestion of the Waveshare stepper HAT for the Pi simplified things quite a bit for me. I use the 183 as a USB hub; power for the 183's cooler comes off the Pi, as will the focuser motor connector when I have that set up. One 12V connector goes into the Pi, one into the mount.

 

Tell her the story of how one of your forum acquaintances toasted his thousand-dollar mount plugging the wrong cable into a port. You'll look great by comparison. (Actually, I know of at least two of us who've done so.)


Edited by fewayne, 05 June 2020 - 06:09 PM.

  • cshine and OldManSky like this

#7 nitegeezer

nitegeezer

    Galactic Ghost

  • *****
  • Posts: 7,043
  • Joined: 27 Nov 2007

Posted 05 June 2020 - 06:13 PM

I guess I cheat a bit. When I got everything working, I just bundled the wires with one exiting the bundle as needed. Now each connector has only one place it can go without making other connections too long or too short.
  • Ken Sturrock and cshine like this

#8 OhmEye

OhmEye

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 699
  • Joined: 15 Sep 2019
  • Loc: Western NY Southern Tier

Posted 05 June 2020 - 06:29 PM

I understand the desire to draw that up, but I'm with Radial195 and can't help with the wife. :) My rig isn't complicated enough, just 8 USB cables and some power cables takes care of most of it.


  • cshine likes this

#9 Couder

Couder

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2014
  • Loc: Missouri Ozarks

Posted 05 June 2020 - 06:30 PM

you forgot to label the usb cable between the laptop and the hub 5VDC



#10 cshine

cshine

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 204
  • Joined: 26 May 2018
  • Loc: Houston, Texas

Posted 05 June 2020 - 06:46 PM

I've certainly made them but I usually just drew them freehand (during work meetings...)

This was definitely not done while working from home, no siree

 

You have plenty of company. I've done much the same. It's a reasonable approach and much better than trying keep it all in your head.

I'm feeling a lot better already :)

 

I just do it in my head, but I did wiring for a living. Sorry, can't help on winning your respect back, you'll hafta' find some other "manly" project for that!

Great, another Saturday spent powerwashing the driveway!



#11 Astrola72

Astrola72

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 829
  • Joined: 16 Feb 2014
  • Loc: Maryland, USA

Posted 05 June 2020 - 06:55 PM

Do you really run a usb cable from the hub to the ST4 port on your mount?


  • Ken Sturrock, jdupton and cshine like this

#12 jdupton

jdupton

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2,516
  • Joined: 21 Nov 2010
  • Loc: Central Texas, USA

Posted 05 June 2020 - 07:22 PM

Astrola72,

 

   I thought I was the only nerd that actually looked at the details in the diagram...  wink.gif

 

   ... and yes, @cshine, I also do diagrams but mine are never as well organized as yours.

 

 

John


  • cshine likes this

#13 cshine

cshine

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 204
  • Joined: 26 May 2018
  • Loc: Houston, Texas

Posted 05 June 2020 - 07:39 PM

Do you really run a usb cable from the hub to the ST4 port on your mount?

Ahem, no. That should be RJ45. Thanks for flagging. 



#14 Peter Zbib

Peter Zbib

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 504
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2014

Posted 05 June 2020 - 08:38 PM

Did the same (80% same as yours), but used images of each component

 

Purpose was simply to check there was no way to simplify and I also wanted to know how many slots the USB Hub needed to have

 

Thought I was the only nut to do this


  • cshine likes this

#15 Midnight Dan

Midnight Dan

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 13,459
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Hilton, NY, Yellow Zone (Bortle 4.5)

Posted 05 June 2020 - 09:05 PM

I have on on the computer too.

 

-Dan


  • cshine likes this

#16 imtl

imtl

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 479
  • Joined: 07 Jun 2016

Posted 05 June 2020 - 09:33 PM

You could drop a cable or two for better cable management.... tongue2.gif



#17 cshine

cshine

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 204
  • Joined: 26 May 2018
  • Loc: Houston, Texas

Posted 05 June 2020 - 09:55 PM

You could drop a cable or two for better cable management.... tongue2.gif

I'm all ears - what would you drop here? The fewer the better



#18 cshine

cshine

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 204
  • Joined: 26 May 2018
  • Loc: Houston, Texas

Posted 05 June 2020 - 10:02 PM

Did the same (80% same as yours), but used images of each component

 

Purpose was simply to check there was no way to simplify and I also wanted to know how many slots the USB Hub needed to have

 

Thought I was the only nut to do this

Ah good thinking, I like it

 

I have on on the computer too.

 

   ... and yes, @cshine, I also do diagrams but mine are never as well organized as yours.

Maybe we can start a support group or something smile.gif 


  • jdupton likes this

#19 AhBok

AhBok

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2,642
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2010
  • Loc: Lakeland, TN

Posted 05 June 2020 - 10:26 PM

I . . . Ummm . . . Agree with your wife . . . Ummm . . . sorry . . .
  • cshine likes this

#20 OldManSky

OldManSky

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3,906
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2019
  • Loc: Valley Center, CA USA

Posted 05 June 2020 - 10:27 PM

We all start to do odd things after a run of cloudy nights... :)


  • AhBok likes this

#21 cshine

cshine

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 204
  • Joined: 26 May 2018
  • Loc: Houston, Texas

Posted 05 June 2020 - 10:41 PM

you forgot to label the usb cable between the laptop and the hub 5VDC

Hmm, aren't all the USB lines 5v at least?

 

I . . . Ummm . . . Agree with your wife . . . Ummm . . . sorry . . .

I have found that this is generally the safest thing to do

 

We all start to do odd things after a run of cloudy nights... smile.gif

May was actually pretty terrible, this is probably what's happened here


  • OldManSky likes this

#22 Alex McConahay

Alex McConahay

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 9,101
  • Joined: 11 Aug 2008
  • Loc: Moreno Valley, CA

Posted 05 June 2020 - 11:25 PM

Ahem, no. That should be RJ45. Thanks for flagging. 

Or is it that you mislabeled the ST-4 and you really have a USB cable connecting to your mount? I do not see how your computer is controlling your mount otherwise. 

 

Is there a hub in the main camera? Does the focus cube connect through the main camera? 

 

Alex



#23 Kevin Ross

Kevin Ross

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 922
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2018
  • Loc: Traverse City, MI

Posted 06 June 2020 - 12:52 AM

So my wife saw me working on this wiring diagram today and made it clear that it was the saddest, nerdiest thing she had seen me do in a while (which is saying something).

My wife has seen me do much nerdier things. For example, using a Raspberry Pi to control the temperature of my smoker.

 

Or, using a spreadsheet to track my pizza dough recipe results. No I don't run a restaurant, this is just making pizza at home.

 

PizzaSpreadsheet.png


  • Ken Sturrock and cshine like this

#24 imtl

imtl

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 479
  • Joined: 07 Jun 2016

Posted 06 June 2020 - 01:02 AM

I'm all ears - what would you drop here? The fewer the better

I was just teasing you :) Nothing really to drop.

 

Mine setup is more or less the same.

Change to OAG and you can drop one dew strap I guess. Put ZWO ASIAIR and work with wifi so you could drop the connection to laptop and powering it up outside? Or put a NUC with wifi on top and connect remotely.


  • cshine likes this

#25 Ken Sturrock

Ken Sturrock

    Cardinal Ximenez (No one expects the Spanish Inquisition)

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 8,686
  • Joined: 26 Sep 2009
  • Loc: Denver, CO

Posted 06 June 2020 - 02:10 AM

To follow up on Astrola's and Alex's thoughts, you'll need a USB cable to the mount and, depending on software, might be able to drop the ST-4 relay cable and just guide it with the Pulse Guide protocol through the USB control cable.




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics