•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Solar filter suggestions for a noob

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Hax

Hax

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Charlottetown PEI Canada

Posted 06 June 2020 - 09:47 AM

Hi all, 

Im pretty new to astronomy, and i have 2 telescopes, an Orion Spaceprobe 130ST, and a Celestron C6R with AVX. I have a few eyepieces to go with them but the only filter i have is a moon filter for lunar observation. My main question would be, is there a difference between solar filters between those 2 scopes? I've seen a few kinds of solar filters and really would like one, but don't want to purchase the wrong kind. Price range doesn't matter too much, and im mostly looking for a good quality solar filter for the refractor (if there is a difference). Would anyone be able to point me in the right direction for a solar filter for observational viewing? I would like to see sun spots/flares if that's possible with observational. 

Any and all help is greatly appreciated, And sorry for any ignorance as im just starting out seriously as an amateur astronomer.

PS i am also going to purchase some type of fringe killer, narrowband or semi APO filter (I'm still researching that too, if there is even a difference between those) because I'm aware the C6R can have some aberration problems.

#2 DLuders

DLuders

Soyuz

• Loc: Spokane, WA

Posted 06 June 2020 - 10:13 AM