•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Newbie Needs Help with RedCat and Canon EOS M6 Mark II

astrophotography beginner
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 derickson

derickson

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 06 June 2020 - 09:57 AM

Thanks in advance for any help.

I'm just starting out in AP. My new RedCat 51 arrived and I mounted it to my Canon EOS M6 Mark II with a T ring adapter *and* the EF-EOS M adapter. 

Long story short, live view mode gives me the "F00" error--no lens attached (or no aperture information). I've tried attaching/reattaching the adapters, cleaning the contacts, all the usual stuff, but to no avail. My other lenses (all Canon) work fine. Called Canon support who told me that non-Canon lenses can't be used with this camera. Seems odd to me and I hope he's wrong.

Hopefully this is a simple fix--an obvious one that will make me feel an idiot--and one of you can help me out.

Thanks again,

Daniel

#2 Bill Jensen

Bill Jensen

Ranger 4

• Loc: Springfield VA

Posted 06 June 2020 - 10:11 AM

Daniel, on my Canon R, in order to use a manual lens, I had to select "release shutter w/o Lens" option as "on", under the c.Fn menu. I am not sure which menu it is on for the M6II, but you may want to try that option. It is preset to be "off". 

#3 derickson

derickson

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 06 June 2020 - 10:20 AM

Bill,

Thanks so much. That worked perfectly. On the M6II it is in the C.Fn.III menu, Option 4. Buried quite deeply. I called Canon support back and educated them (nicely), as you did for me.

Eternally Grateful,

Daniel

• Bill Jensen likes this

#4 Bill Jensen

Bill Jensen

Ranger 4

• Loc: Springfield VA

Posted 06 June 2020 - 11:56 AM