•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

RASA 8: Completely useless

• Please log in to reply
129 replies to this topic

#1 Cerberus

Cerberus

Mercury-Atlas

• topic starter
  • Loc: Wichita, Kansas

Posted 07 June 2020 - 04:02 AM

I've been beating my head against the wall for 3 months trying to get this god forsaken thing working. Have not gotten a SINGLE acceptable light frame. An entire season and $2000 completely wasted.

Camera swaps, collimation adjustment, attempts at fixing tilt, messing with focus shift/tilt of the mirror, buying various adapters to try and diagnose a bad part. There is no dedicated collimation tool available, and even more insulting the promised tilt adapter has not materialized. Only word from Celestron is "Pay to send it back and we will do a poor job collimating the scope for you".

Long story short I'm done. Do not buy this scope guys. Maybe some of them leave the factory fine but ANY TINY IMPERFECTION in your scope, ANY of the hardware in the imaging train or adapters, and the camera sensor itself will cause elongation or donut stars. The reduced exposure time is not worth the hassle in maintaining the system.

Edited by Cerberus, 07 June 2020 - 04:02 AM.

• retroman2 likes this

#2 pyrasanth

pyrasanth

Mercury-Atlas

Posted 07 June 2020 - 04:14 AM