•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Which one?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 stargazer32864

stargazer32864

Ranger 4

• topic starter
  • Loc: Owensboro, KY

Posted 27 June 2020 - 10:36 PM

Ok, I have a question about refractors. I know there are ones that have to be collminated. But which ones?? Triplett?? Doublet?? I'm not good at collmination, unless it's reflectors which is a piece of cake, but refractors are a new ballgame. I'm wanting to buy the new refractor that comes out on the Astronomics website, ( Astro-Tech 100mm EDL), but do I have to line up the lens? I have no experience in that.

~Robin

#2 Couder

Couder

Mariner 2

• Loc: Missouri Ozarks

Posted 27 June 2020 - 10:46 PM

I've hauled my 3", 4",  and 6"refractors from St. Louis area to Indiana, Chicago many times, Kentucky, all over St. Louis area many times, now we live in the Missouri Ozarks and I've hauled them back to Chicago and all over the area here and never had to collimate. If that tells you anything.

#3 Heywood

Heywood

Apollo

• -----

Posted 27 June 2020 - 10:49 PM

A refractor is collimated at the factory and should never need to be collimated again unless it suffers a sharp blow during transport.  smile.gif

NOTE:  The correct word is "collimation," not "collmination."  "Collmination" is not a recognized word in the English language.

Edited by Heywood, 27 June 2020 - 10:53 PM.

#4 TOMDEY

TOMDEY

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Springwater, NY

Posted 27 June 2020 - 11:20 PM