•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Should I consider the Astromaster 90EQ telescope?

Celestron equipment refractor
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Theodore Beaty

Theodore Beaty

Explorer 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: 20 miles North of Nashville TN

Posted 28 June 2020 - 06:30 PM

I have been using a Meade LS8 for nearly four years now and I have been very satisfied. Having said that, it can be cumbersome to drag the beast out when there isn't much to see except the moon and maybe planets, or when I want to spend just half an hour out before bed. I originally started considering the power seeker eq60, but for some reason I kept increasing the aperture I wanted ;) I know the "veteran astronomers" will likely cringe at the thought of a cheap, small refractor, but I would like to hear from people who have used or are using this telescope. Is it easy to use? Is it made with tolerable quality? Basically, is it worth the $300? I don't plan to spend more than that much on whatever setup I get. Also, I do not want a reflecting telescope as that is more specialized for deep sky while I am looking for a solar system scope. The other option I would consider is finding the OTA and mount on the CN Classifieds and putting them  together myself. In the meantime, I am asking for the more informed to enlighten me about the quality and value of this specific apparatus. 

#2 PXR-5

PXR-5

ISS

• Loc: NC

Posted 28 June 2020 - 08:12 PM

Nope.
First, the focuser is plastic, along with the diagonal.

EQ mounts IMHO are best for planets or the Moon and you already have a tracking scope.

So what do I recommend?

Get a ST80 on an alt az mount, this will give you nice wide field veiws :)

Meade is offering this one https://www.bhphotov..._refractor.html

Edited by PXR-5, 28 June 2020 - 08:13 PM.

• drd715 likes this

#3 Echolight