•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Tips for Eaa telescope

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 nettdi

nettdi

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 29 June 2020 - 09:50 AM

Dear boys,
I have been using the eaa since 2017 with my 10 "dobson goto
and my celestron mak 127 slt.
my cam is Gpcam2 imx 224.
When I use the dobson with focal reducer the stars I have seen are very bad ...
When I always use the focal reducer with my mak the image is good but the exposures are very long ...
I'm thinking of selling one of mine objectives and to buy the new scope. I do the EAA from the city center with a high LP
You can give me an advice?
I am thinking of buying a refractor on eq
I attached the photos to you
the first image is M31;
the second image is NGC 6888
sorry for my English
I wrote to you from Italy

Attached Thumbnails

• M31 andromeda galaxy.jpg
  • ngc 6888 crescent nebula_4.jpg

Edited by nettdi, 29 June 2020 - 05:43 PM.

#2 mclewis1

mclewis1

Thread Killer

• Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 29 June 2020 - 12:56 PM

It looks like you have a problem with the amount of spacing from the focal reducer to the camera sensor, or the quality of the focal reducer itself. Some inexpensive focal reducers have shown similar optical problems.

What kind of focal reducer are you using?

How is your camera and focal reducer attached?

For a good portable telescope to be used for EAA I think something smaller than you 10" but also faster (shorter f ratio) than your 127mm Mak would be a good idea. I would suggest something like a 150-200mm SCT (Celestron 6SE or similar) with an SCT focal reducer (so working at about f6) or a 130-150mm f4-f5 Newtonian on a similar size alt az goto mount.