•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Who was your first ATM mentor?

mirror making ATM beginner
  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 Get Sirius

Get Sirius

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Fairfield, CT

Posted 29 June 2020 - 10:17 AM

Who was your first ATM mentor? 

Mine was a very unusual man, completely self-taught about mirror making and astronomy.  He was Ernie Brendel, a middle aged farmer in Madison county New York, about an hour from Syracuse.  I met him when I was 13, in 1956, also living on a farm nearby in a very rural area.  I am not sure if he had ever gone to high school.  He became interested in astronomy and decided to make a telescope.  He had almost no knowledge of what had gone before him and did not realize that there were commercial kits for mirror making, like from Edmund. Or books and magazines that would have been useful.  He read somewhere that you could make a curved mirror by grinding two pieces of glass together.  So he wrote to Corning and asked if they could make him two round pieces of glass about 4 inches in diameter and ½ inch thick.  That eventually became his first telescope.  He later reused those blanks and I have them now.  Not actually that round.
     He read that Foucault made mirrors by grinding them together with an abrasive, but it did not say what the abrasive was.  By lots of trial and error he eventually discovered the solution and also the idea of going to progressively finer grades of it.  This self-taught process took years and he plugged away at it as a hobby.  Farmers usually have little time for hobbies.