•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Help me spend my money?

• Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 StillLearning

StillLearning

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 29 June 2020 - 11:09 AM

Hello everyone! I thought you guys might enjoy helping me spend my newfound telescope fund. Im new to astronomy but i enjoy it enough to justify getting a nice scope.  I live in a bortle 4ish zone, 3 is very close by. I don't have much interest in AP but I do enjoy getting a few cell phone pics with the adapter that came with my mead. 

I would say 99% of my viewing will be in my back yard. I have a decent strip of sky going east to west but trees blocking alot of the north and south. Its also hard to come by a flat spot on my property.  I can get around the trees by relocating in the yard. For these reasons I went with a simple mount for my first scope. 

So i want to get myself a big ol dob. I realize moving around throughout the night will not be easy with a big dob, but i think i can either live with that, or make a few platforms in the yard to use. 

My budget is $700. Im thinking i want a 8" or 10" dob . I don't really want to mess with goto scopes due to my limited sky/ possibility that I will be moving the scope mid viewing. 

I'm not sure if it would make more since to get the best 8" I can afford possibly with a few extra EP or other accessories. Or just get a "base" 10" to get the extra light gathering and worry about accessories later. 

For what its worth im in my early 30's and im not worried about weight or transportation issues with the scope. 

Thanks in advance for any suggestions/help/ slap on the nose you guys may give me! 

#2 Jeff L

Jeff L

Messenger

• Loc: Easton. Pa

Posted 29 June 2020 - 11:16 AM

Buy the 10” and a chainsaw.

• SteveV, icomet, Hesiod and 8 others like this

#3 InkDark

InkDark