•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

EQ Mount with GOTO for a camera setup for DSO imaging

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 driven13

driven13

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 30 June 2020 - 02:24 AM

Hello all.

I have read many articles and help questions on different retail sites but have not been able to find a definitive answer/guide to my situation.

I am trying to figure out a relatively affordable (~$600-$700) mounting solution for doing some DSO imaging using my full-frame as well as crop-framed Canon cameras using 400mm lens (max). So I would need tracking that would require an Equitorial mount.

I am a bit of a noob to all this so I may be making this more complex than it needs to be.

I believe the Skywatcher AZ-GTI is the solution to this as it will work as an Equatorial mount.  This can be connected to SynScan and also to SkySafari App and it becomes a GOTO mount.  I think.  Is this indeed true and is this all I would need for my purposes as described above...??

My confusion stems from the fact that folks keep talking about installing a wedge to the setup above.  Is that really necessary when the Skywatcher AZ-GTI has been set to the Equatorial mode...??

If it is indeed necessary to get a wedge, I was looking at either the iOptron SkyGuider Pro Camera Mount with iPolar or the Sky-Watcher Star Adventurer Equatorial Wedge Base...???  Or are these totally different things altogether...??  Or do I need both...?? (Sorry, total confusion here.)