•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

ZWO294 MC Pro Regarding gain, do camera's have a "sweet spot?"

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 psy1280

psy1280

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 30 June 2020 - 02:08 PM

I'm new to EAA and recently purchased a ZWO294 MC Pro. Can anyone tell me the best gain setting for this camera using a LP filter with a Celestron 8" SCT alt/az mount.. I only image EAA and was told that every camera has a sort of "sweet spot" regarding gain. Not sure if this is true or whether it depends on exposure, etc., etc. 

Thank you,

Joe

#2 BobE102330

BobE102330

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 30 June 2020 - 02:30 PM

I’m a newb, but my take on camera sweet spot is balancing read noise and full well depth to your target and focal ratio.  At low gain you have more full well depth but read noise is higher. So called unity gain is often considered an optimum, but I feel it varies by target.  Brighter targets will give you more signal so it’s easier to swamp the read noise and you’ll want all the dynamic range that you can get. That goes toward minimum gain. Dim targets, on the other hand are signal to noise challenges so go higher gain and give up some dynamic range to get a better image.  It seems like most  people on YouTube settle on unity gain for almost everything and adjust sub duration to get proper exposures. That works, but I suspect at the extreme bright and dim ends adjusting gain per target makes for more optimum exposures. If only I got enough opportunities to test various settings. 

#3 cmooney91

cmooney91

Mariner 2

• Loc: Massachusetts

Posted 30 June 2020 - 03:33 PM

Anything above the High conversion gain crossover point should be good.