•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

PHD Re-calibration

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Rac19

Rac19

Surveyor 1

• topic starter

Posted 30 June 2020 - 08:09 PM

I am new to PHD and have a question about calibration.

It seems that PHD automatically saves and restores calibration data for each combination of guide-scope/camera.

I can't find anyway to explicitly initiate calibration, it apparently happens automatically. In my case I found that some of the configuration under Advanced Settings was incorrect (namealt the guide-scope focal length and the camera binning).

Does PHD automatically recalibrate after ANY Advanced Settings are changed? Maybe I was just a bit impatient, but after noticing for some time that the "cal" indicator was red, I did a few things to try to trigger a re-calibration. I cleared the calibration data, unchecked "Restore calibration data automatically" (in Advanced Settings) and restarted PHD.

A few things happened to make me think that re-calibration had occurred. PHD asked me if I wanted to restore calibration data automatically, the "cal" indicator turned green and the calibration chart changed.

Any clarification that anyone can offer on this subject would be appreciated.

Also, the binning was set to 2x, possibly by default, and I changed it to x1. Is there any improvement in tracking with binning configured? Clouds didn't really allow for meaningful testing but the PHD chart appeared to fluctuate more widely with binning set to 1x. It did seem to be settling to a tighter band with time but them the clouds rolled in.

#2 vnc1218

vnc1218

Mariner 2

• -----

Posted 30 June 2020 - 08:14 PM

You can force PHD to re-calibrate by pressing shift while clicking on the green crosshair button.  You should do this near the meridian and around Dec 0 for best results.